Screenwriters, authors recognized at Scripter Awards

first_imgDoheny Memorial Library transformed into a ballroom on Saturday night for the 29th annual USC Libraries Scripter Awards. The black-tie gala was held in the Los Angeles Times Reference Room.The Scripter awards, established in 1988, recognizes screenwriters along with the authors of the original works they adapted. Originally the awards were given only to film adaptations, but last year a new category was created to recognize TV adaptations.At the event, Provost Michael Quick shared the key role that libraries play in the academic life of the University.“They are the core of what we stand for in higher education,” Quick said. “The unfettered search for truth, the accumulation over time of the knowledge that allows us to progress as humans, our launching point for future leaders. The libraries represent the absolute best of what it means to be human, of what it means to revere the truth, of what it means to make a difference in the world.”This year’s winning author, Tarell Alvin McCraney, and screenwriter Barry Jenkins, were recognized for the film Moonlight.There was also a tie tonight for the TV category between screenwriters Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski with author Jeffrey Toobin for FX’s The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story and screenwriter David Farr with author John Le Carré for AMC’s The Night Manager.According to the Scripter Awards website, the Scripter selection committee is “comprised of Writers Guild of America Members, Academy Award-winning and -nominated screenwriters, authors, film industry executives, faculty, and select members of the Friends of the USC Libraries.” This year’s committee, chaired by USC professor Howard Rodman, chose finalists from 80 film and 45 TV adaptations.“One of the things I love about the Scripter Awards is that it’s the only award, that I’m aware of, that honors written work into film,” Rodman said to Red Carpet Report TV. “And, unlike many other awards that honor just the movie or television show, this actually goes back to honor equally, the writers of the original work.”This year’s finalists for film adaptation included Eric Heisserer for Arrival, August Wilson for Fences, Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi for Hidden Figures, Luke Davies for the screenplay for Lion, and Barry Jenkins for Moonlight, adapted from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney.The finalists for television episodes included David Benioff and D. B. Weiss for the episode “The Winds of Winter” from Game of Thrones, adapted from the series A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin, Erik Oleson for the episode “Fallout” from The Man in the High Castle, Tara Herrmann and Jenji Kohan for the episode “Toast Can’t Never Be Bread Again” from Orange Is the New Black, and Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski for the episode “Manna From Heaven” from The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.Every year the Scripter Award funds specific projects around USC. Sponsorship levels ranged from a $500 “Supporter” level which included dinner for one and a formal invitation to the Scripter Reception, to a $30,000 “Gold” level, which included dinner for a group of 16, transportation to and from the event, membership in the Dean’s Council of the Friends of the USC Libraries, and a private dinner with the Dean.last_img read more

Badgers seek to break winless streak at B1G tournament

first_imgA high-level performance from Wisconsin’s Jared Berggren will be essential against Indiana’s leading scorer, forward Cody Zeller. Zeller leads IU with 15.5 points per game.[/media-credit]It’s no secret that the Badgers have struggled in the Big Ten Tournament the past three years, failing to register a single win. On Friday, Wisconsin will seek to end its streak of three consecutive one-and-done conference tournament appearances when it takes on Indiana at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis, Ind.Wisconsin (23-8, 12-6 Big Ten), the No. 4 seed in the tournament, will face Indiana (25-7, 11-7 Big Ten), the No. 5 seed, for just the second time this season. The Badgers previously bested the Hoosiers – who reached Friday’s matchup with a 75-58 trouncing of Penn State in the first round of the conference tournament – by a score of 57-50 Jan. 26 at the Kohl Center.In a tale of two sides of basketball, the best scoring defense in the nation will face off against the best scoring offense in the conference. Wisconsin currently allows opponents on average to score just 51.9 points per game, while Indiana scores an average of 77.5 points per game. Come Friday afternoon, something will have to give.If the Badgers hope to break their cold streak in the conference tournament they will need another solid game from junior big men Jared Berggren and Ryan Evans. The two combined last time around to hold Indiana’s two leading scorers, freshman Cody Zeller and junior Christian Watford, to a combined 19 points. Berggren displayed an aggressive style of defense rarely seen, swatting five Indiana shots while Evans nearly earned a double-double with 12 points and nine rebounds.Currently, Indiana’s frontcourt duo averages a total of 27.3 points per game, with Zeller and Watford averaging 15.5 and 11.8 points a game, respectively. The Hoosiers also contain an extremely balanced offense, with four players averaging double figures.Indiana, who currently ranks tops in the conference for 3-point shooting at 43 percent, features six players who shoot over 40 percent. Leading the Hoosiers in three-point prowess is senior Matt Roth, who leads the entire Big Ten with an outrageous 57 percent conversion rate from behind the arc. Complimenting Roth is junior Jordan Hull, who is second in the Big Ten behind his senior classmate with a 3-point accuracy rating of 48 percent. Their success will face a stern test in the Badger defense, which currently holds opponents on average to 27 percent a game from three, good for tops in the nation.The game could be decided on how the Badgers, not the Hoosiers, shoot from beyond the arc. While Wisconsin beat Indiana in their previous meeting shooting just 4-of-17 from beyond the arc (23 percent) there haven’t been many instances the Badgers have escaped with a win while shooting poorly. In the Badgers’ 23 wins, the team has shot on average 39 percent from deep, compared to 25 percent on average in their eight losses. In games where the Badgers have shot 35 percent or more from three, the team is 18-2 compared to 5-6 in games they shoot below 35 percent.The Badgers – whose offense ranks in the bottom three of the conference at 63.8 points a game – will look to benefit offensively from the recent emergence of senior Rob Wilson, who came on nicely in the final stretch of Wisconsin’s conference schedule. In the past six games, Wilson has averaged 17 minutes on the floor while contributing six points per contest. Wilson’s recent contributions have been a major shot in the arm for a Badger offense that struggles at times, as the team comes into the tournament on a three-game winning streak. The Badgers will hope Wilson compliments star point guard Jordan Taylor’s offensive production, as the leader of the Badgers puts in a team-best 14.6 points per game.The winner of Friday afternoon’s game will face either No. 1 seed Michigan State or No. 8 seed Iowa.last_img read more